Chicago: City of Unexpected Nights We Won’t Remember (By: Meg)

So Chicago was definitely the trip I expected and so much more…

Wednesday: As Courtney briefly discussed, no one should have a Wednesday like us. So, I will be avoiding Hubbard Street next time I am in Chicago for fear or being recognized. The good part of Wednesday was I ran into the men that would in turn take us out to dinner on Valentine’s Day. Granted Courtney’s guy was a total creep (Stranger Danger for sure). My guy however was pretty fucking awesome! Let’s call him “Suits.”
223546_10151469513031212_1734428577_n
He was pretty gorgeous. He had just moved to Chicago for his job (which was opening a new store on the Magnificent Mile). Now, what blew my mind was how much of a sharp dresser he was. Man…was he pretty.

Thursday: Anyway, so on Valentine’s Day, Courtney and I did manage to crawl out of bed around 2PM. Wednesday just killed our livers and pride. We did go to the Field Museum which was pretty cool. I always enjoy natural history museums. We did meet up with Suits and Stranger Danger at the pretty nifty sushi restaurant Sunda. Now, Courtney and I don’t necessarily enjoy seafood at all. Courtney more so than I, but at least they had some tempura shrimp…so I was happy. With Stranger Danger upping the creepiness level throughout dinner it did not surprise me that Courtney bailed. Suits and I ended up ditching Stranger Danger as well. Suits and I ended up going to a sky bar, which was pretty fantastic. The views were amazing, I looked great, and I was with a gorgeous guy who keeps buying me cosmo’s. Life Is Good. So after a night of casual drinking, I eventually got back to my hotel around 4AM.

Friday Day: So, after my mini adventure with Suits I made it home and passed out. Once Courtney and I awoke from our slumber we decided to walk around the town. Now, like any normal person I have an obsession with the things I MUST see in any city I visit or I will kick myself for not seeing something. This obsessive landmark for me was “the bean.” Now, I still have no idea of it’s importance, but I wanted to see it. And see I did. It was pretty awesome. We took all the stereotypical photos with it. Once, we were done at Millennium Park, we went to the Art Museum. That was pretty cool seeing all works there. Granted for what we spent on tickets, we did the fastest tour ever. Granted we really only looked at the impressionism area. Contemporary art is just not my thing. After the museum, I decided to venture by myself to the Willis Tower (Sears Towers). I don’t know why they changed the name, everyone still calls it the Sears Tower. Anyhoo…the Tower was everything I expected. Long lines, a lot of kids on a field trip, and a great view!I would not have forgiven myself if I had not gone, so I am glad I did. 62506_10151469522616212_1490842275_n

73446_10151469522476212_1802611284_n

285725_10151469522336212_496504144_n
After the Tower, I met up with Suits for a few. He bought him and I coffee, and walked with me back to my hotel.

Friday Night: Now, the rest of Friday night was crazy. A lot happened in the hours of 7:30PM-4AM. Some of which, I am trying to repress. Friday night consisted of dinner and a show. Now, what blew my mind is back in January, I went to the Jimmie’s Chicken Shack 20th Anniversary reunion show in Baltimore, MD. The guitarist from tonight’s show, played there! So, in turn this girl gets invited back stage πŸ™‚
73455_10151469268111212_69502855_n
Not only did I meet the band, but I met some members of Bad Company…random. Stellar time though. The band then invited me and everyone I am with up to a private party
163299_10151469267731212_856939431_n

426134_10151469268056212_676624447_n
Courtney does not remember this part, but I do, and it was pretty awesome to say the least. Now, this is where I lose some of my night. I find myself not with Courtney, her god-sister, or suits anymore. So…the hunt begins. Turns out they are at some cafe. So, I grab a cab and get my ass over there and enjoy some amazing french toast. Although the scrambler that suits got was so much better, so when he wasn’t looking Courtney and I would steal every little bit of it.

Well what happens in Chicago, truly needs to stay there. My night did not end after the cafe adventure, and it continued well to 8AM with Suits. So in saying that….I am keeping these thoughts to myself. Now with spending a few days in Chicago, I did realize the big city is where I belong. I had been having a lot of reservations about leaving to go to Seoul. Some days would be “I am staying” others would be “I am leaving.” Honesty, I am not sure which will be the right decision, but the only way to find out is go. So although I have my reservations, going is the only thing that will solve this problem. If I decide it is not for me when I arrive, I can always come home. Only time will tell with this one.

Thank you Chicago for inadvertently making the decision for me!

–Meg

One thought on “Chicago: City of Unexpected Nights We Won’t Remember (By: Meg)

  1. The bean is pretty dope. I wanted to go to the Sears/Willis Tower but the employees there were pretty rude and we were turned off by their attitude. Plus it was foggy and hazy – not worth spending the money on that particular day.

Leave a comment